Meet the Maker – Boii

Meet: Boii

Symone handcrafts home decor products that incorporate as many repurposed materials as possible, this makes each piece she creates unique and ready to incorporate into your home. Her products include decorative burlap banners, storage baskets and hanging wood shelves. Each of her shelves uses hand chosen and handmade materials which ensures that no two are the same. Find her home decor products at the Makers of Alberta spring market on May 6 at the Apple Creek Golf Course.

Tell us about yourself?

I moved to Canada when I was 18 from Ireland and now call Calgary home. I have been with my boyfriend since I was 16, just reaching 11 years now…..obviously I don’t suffer from commitment issues or maybe I just hate change. lol. We have a dog called Penny who HATES to walk on the streets of Calgary. Imagine a dog playing dead while attached fbto a leash…. that’s what our walks look like. However like me, she loves the countryside, especially the mountains! I love being apart of the handmade community here in Alberta. There is so much appreciation for handmade products. I enjoy being a vendor at the markets and meeting so many friendly people!

What do you make and create? 

I make hand crafted home decor products that incorporate as many repurposed materials as possible, making each one unique for your home. Products range from burlap decorative banners, storage baskets and hanging wood shelves.

What makes them uniquely handmade? 

Each product incorporates repurposed materials and as a result there are rarely any two items the same. All wood product materials are hand chosen and hand made which ensures that no two are the same as each wood grain is beautifully different.

When did you first get started in the handmade world?

I got started in the handmade world 2 years ago.

What made you or how did you get started in the handmade world?

My journey started by sitting down one day and answering one simple question. If I could do anything in the world all day every day, what would that be? Simple… to make things! My background started in fashion design but my passion lay in the home. So I set out to make home decor products. I wanted to make hand made items as I could have a lot more control over the quality and the uniqueness of each one while maintaining an sustainable approach. The home is a very special place and so should every item in it be.

What or who inspires you or your business (creations)?

From a design/creative perspective: Mainly the raw materials like a piece of fabric or wood, the history of bohemianism and how it became a long lasting subculture within society that formed into so many design aesthetics as well as functionality of the end product. From a business perspective: All professionals who are successful in the hand made world. It is inspiring to see that it is possible and there is a demand for it. It drives me to keep growing my business and to always be moving forward. From a personal level: My boyfriend, brother, and parents. My parents have always tried to better themselves and in turn they were successful in all aspects of their lives. In their profession, as wife, as husband and as parents. I see this in my boyfriend and brother too so it always inspires me to do the same.

What are your hope and dreams for the future of your business?

My dream is to be able to do this full time and to always be growing both professionally with the business and personally.

Do you have a “motto” or “mantra” that helps you get through days when things aren’t going quite right?

Be patient.

What is one fun fact about you or your business?

Me: I recently discovered that I can’t hike past 2000m elevation without my fear of heights kicking in and almost fainting. Crawling on a mountain side hyper ventilating as my boyfriend laughs at me is not what I had in mind when I asked him to pick a moderate leisurely hike!

Where can we find your handmade products? Online or In-Store

Find them through my etsy page: https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/BoiiBySymone?ref=hdr_shop_menu
website: https://www.boiihomedecor.com/
or at local markets: https://www.boiihomedecor.com/event/
You can also become a subscriber trough my website for sneak peak previews of new products, upcoming events and exclusive discount offers!

Social media links.

https://www.instagram.com/boiihomedecor/?hl=en https://www.facebook.com/Boiihomedecor/ https://twitter.com/BoiiBySymone

Leave a Reply

