Meet the Maker – Gathering Dust Photography Company

Meet: Gathering Dust Photography Company

Kyla is an outdoor photographer that will be bringing her fine-art prints, handmade greeting cards and one-of-a-kind reclaimed wood photo displays to the Makers of Alberta Spring Market at the Apple Creek Golf Course on May 6. Get a little more insight into Kyla’s photography and what she enjoys capturing in her pictures below.

Tell us about yourself?

My name is Kyla Black and I’m an outdoor photographer from Lethbridge. I think we are fortunate to live in one of the most beautiful and inspiring places in the world and I love to spend my time out exploring it. I am most happy when surrounded by the beauty of nature. When I’m not pursuing photography I can be found enjoying the comforts of home – gardening, cooking, renovating my 100+ year-old home or cuddling up on the couch with my pug-mix Cali.

What do you make and create?

I love showcasing the beauty of Southern Alberta through images of landscapes, wildlife and abandoned farmsteads. Besides selling my photography in fine-art prints and handmade greeting cards I also create one-of-a-kind photo displays using reclaimed barn wood and driftwood I’ve collected in my travels. They are a unique compliment to my photography – What better way to display my photographs of Southern Alberta than on a handmade product using wood from locations throughout Southern Alberta!

Poster3

What makes them uniquely handmade?

The excitement of being in the right place at the right time to capture a glimpse of this amazing world is what drives me. To get an up-close and personal experience with nature is a thrill to me and I hope the excitement and passion I feel in the moment is reflected in my photography. I enjoy speaking with land owners and walking the waterways to source the materials I use to create my photo displays that I personally craft in my backyard workshop.

When did you first get started in the handmade world?

Gathering Dust Photography Company launched in the Spring of 2014.

What made you or how did you get started in the handmade world?

Photography has always been a passion of mine but I didn’t take the leap of starting my company until I was laid off from my job due to company downsizing. With my new ‘time off’ and with support from family and friends I made the decision to take my passion from hobby to business.

Poster1

What or who inspires you or your business (creations)?

I am inspired by the world around me. There are so many beautiful and interesting things to see right in our own backyard and I think we all too often take that for granted. Nature provides me with endless inspiration and creativity.

What are your hope and dreams for the future of your business?

I hope I can continue to grow and develop my business in the years to come. It has become such a passion and brings me such joy in life that if it provides me with the resources and opportunities to continue to pursue it then I will consider myself very lucky.

Do you have a “motto” or “mantra” that helps you get through days when things aren’t going quite right?

Who doesn’t have those days?? I know it sounds cliché but they truly do make you appreciate the good ones. I try to take each ‘bad day’ as an opportunity to learn but sometimes it just comes down to your ability to move forward and remember that there might be a mountain in your way but the view at the top is worth the climb.

Products - Barn Wood

What is one fun fact about you or your business?

My passion for photography normally finds me scouting a gravel back road for my next inspiration. That’s how I came up with my company name of Gathering Dust Photography. If my vehicle is covered in dust, it typically means I spent the day doing what I love.

Where can we find your handmade products? Online or In-Store

Online on my website at www.gatheringdustphotography.com
or
in my Etsy shop at www.etsy.com/ca/shop/GatheringDustPhotos

Social media links.

Follow me on Facebook and Instagram for the latest photographs, stories behind the images as well as company news, events/shows and contests.

Facebook | Instagram

Leave a Reply

