“Meet the Makers” – Hop & Flop

Meet the Makers – Hop & Flop

Tell us about yourself?

I’m a kid a heart that loves to try new things, whether that’s going on a hike in the mountains or going to try a new restaurant in town. I have a background in graphic design and illustration, but also think relaxing is baking up a storm of eclairs or banana bread.

What do you make and create?

I bring to life a cabinet of whimsical paper goods and original artwork. From block printed greeting cards to cute animal prints. I like to challenge myself and take my illustrations into different directions, which is why you’ll also see calendars, colouring books and other fun illustrated goodies.

What makes them uniquely handmade?

Every piece begins with me. My sketches and ideas are brought to life through different mediums and I like to always create something that reminds me of my childhood. I take the time to consider all aspects of the hand crafting from the idea, to determining what I should use for materials and I do my best to source everything locally or within Canada.

When did you first get started in the handmade world?

I would say 2011. That’s when I first opened up an online store and went to my first craft market in Calgary.

What made you or how did you get started in the handmade world?

It all started with hand illustrating holiday cards for family and friends. I really wanted to give them something unique and memorable. So, I painted a card for each person. Each card was a different illustration and some friends were so amazed with it, that they encouraged me to try selling cards online.

What or who inspires you or your business (creations)?

Lisa Congdon and Joy Cho (internationally) and really a lot of local artisans I’ve come across while working on my business, such as Pickle and Francois, Gloria Ho and Crystal Driedger.

What are your hope and dreams for the future of your business?

I would truly be blessed to be able to make it my full-time job and be able to share my work not just in Alberta, but elsewhere in the world, which is why I’m working on a wholesale catalogue and pushing that further in the coming years. I love going to craft markets, but I’ve always stayed in Alberta and I would love to be able to try a market elsewhere or be able to have my paper goods in a boutique.

Do you have a “motto” or “mantra” that helps you get through days when things aren’t going quite right?

I don’t have a specific quote or saying to get me through the rough patches. I actually just tell myself, “be you” and take a moment to reflect or relax and get back to it. No one is perfect, so what? You can do this!

What is one fun fact about you or your business?

Well, most of what I illustrate is animal based, but can you believe I’m allergic? Crazy allergic to cats and dogs.

Where can we find your handmade products? Online or In-Store

Online:
hopnflop.etsy.com

In-Store:
Calgary – The Uncmns, Crafted and Greater Goods
Edmonton – Carbon Boutique and Majesty & Friends (shop opening soon)
Halifax – Inkwell Boutique

Share your social media links.

Facebook | Instagram | Etsy | Twitter | Pinterest

Leave a Reply

