“Meet the Makers” – Boston Creative Co.

Meet the Makers – Boston Creative Co.

SONY DSCTell us about yourself?

My name is Elena (last name Boston) and aside from being a mama, a family photographer and happy home maker for my hubs, I am the proud owner of this lovely little company. What you see is truly a dream come true. Drawing, painting & making is a big part of my life I love being in my studio, getting my hands messy and making things that I am proud of. I am inspired by the beautiful city I live in and all of its surroundings. The wildlife, the forests, the mountains, the rivers and lakes.

What do you make and create?

I woodburn, paint and illustrate all things cute and pretty. I love floral motifs and anything vintage inspired!

What makes them uniquely handmade?

Everything that I make it sourced, designed and made my be. I think what makes them unique is my eye for colours and the mix between rugged wood and delicate watercolours.

When did you first get started in the handmade world?

I’ve always made things for myself and family but decided to take it a little more seriously when my first son was 1. I wanted to be a mama but one that had a happy fullfilled life. Making helps me do that.

What made you or how did you get started in the handmade world?

I was so inspired by other local makers and their fearlessness to expose themselves and their art to others. I thought if they can do it… Why can’t I?

What or who inspires you or your business (creations)?

I’m inspired by this beautiful city and all the amazing makers that are in it. So many creative people and small bussinesses to see and explore!

What are your hope and dreams for the future of your business?

I hope to just continue making. Being inspired and filling peoples lives with my artwork!

Do you have a “motto” or “mantra” that helps you get through days when things aren’t going quite right?

Mostly for me, I just take a step back. Move on and revisit the next day. It’s tough finding the time to work with 2 kids under 3 so any time that I do get to work can’t be filled with frustration and self doubt.

What is one fun fact about you or your business?

I grew up in Europe, married to an English man whom I stole from England. Our last name is Boston – and no we have never been!

Where can we find your handmade products? Online or In-Store

I have an etsy store (www.bostoncreativeco.etsy.com), a website (www.bostoncreativeco.com) and you can find some of my items at Outside The Shape in Inglewood, Calgary.

Share your social media links.

Facebook | Instagram | Etsy | Website

Leave a Reply

