Meet the Maker – Olive Lane Handmade

Meet the Maker – Olive Lane Handmade

I recently won a cute little car seat quilt from Olive Lane Handmade over on Instagram and of course I knew once I had won it that I needed to share it here. Sometimes I can’t fit all that I want to in Instagram and Facebook captions so I asked Jacy if she would like to do a “Meet the Maker” post and share more about herself and her business, read below to get a little insight about Jacy and her little handmade shop, Olive Lane Handmade.

dsc_0061Tell us about yourself?

I am a high school social studies teacher, lifeguard, coffee snob, book lover and fabric enthusiast from Whitecourt, AB.

What do you make and create?

I make a variety of baby blankets and quilts, along with a few other accessories such as teething toys, crib sheets, and burp cloths.

What makes them uniquely handmade?

I like to mix and match fabrics and designs from many different designers and companies, which I think helps make my items unique. I also enjoy working with independent fabric designers on Spoonflower to create designs and colours that are totally custom for my projects.

When did you first get started in the handmade world?

I have loved sewing since I was a little girl (I remember fondly the outfits and patterns I used to create for my younger sisters to wear. They didn’t have a choice about being my models!) but I only seriously began to create and sell my items about two years ago.

What made you or how did you get started in the handmade world?

About two years ago, my cousin had a baby and I made him a quilt, which reignited the love of sewing that I had repressed during my teenage years (apparently I thought sewing was dorky) and then while I was busy going to university. The quilt became a favourite of his, and I’ve been obsessed with sewing pretty much ever since then. About a year ago is when I took the plunge and started an Etsy shop!

What or who inspires you or your business (creations)?

I get inspiration from lots of places! I love quilting books and magazines, and I can spend hours combing Pinterest (but really, who can’t?) but I think my main source of inspiration is my customers and their requests and ideas. Often, I’ll take a suggestion from a customer or friend and use it as a jumping off point for a new project.

What are your hope and dreams for the future of your business?

My two dreams are that I grow my business big enough that I can stay home with my (hypothetical future) kids and that I can make more money than I currently spend on fabric. Haha!

Do you have a “motto” or “mantra” that helps you get through days when things aren’t going quite right?

I don’t really have a motto (I have too many favourite quotes to choose just one!) but when I’m feeling discouraged, I like to look at pictures that customers have sent me of their little ones enjoying my creations, and it makes me remember why I make what I make. If that doesn’t help enough, I go read a book or take a bath. I find that a little break does a world of good for a discouraged mood.

What is one fun fact about you or your business?

I love to listen to audiobooks while I sew, and I could look at almost any quilt I’ve made and tell you exactly what I was listening to while I made it.

Where can we find your handmade products? Online or In-Store

You can find me on Etsy!

Share your social media links

Olive Lane Handmade Etsy Shop
Instagram
Facebook

fullsizeoutput_8d6

Leave a Reply

